Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Throbbing Gristle, 20 Jazz Funk Greats, 1979


Throbbing Gristle is a British industrial music and visual arts group that evolved from the performance art group COUM Transmissions. The band consists of Genesis P-Orridge (bass, violin, vocals, vibraphone), Cosey Fanni Tutti (guitars, cornet, vocals), Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson (tapes, found sounds, horns, vibraphone, synthesizer), and Chris Carter (synthesizers, tapes, electronics).

Throbbing Gristle's confrontational live performances and use of often disturbing imagery, including pornography and photographs of Nazi concentration camps, gave the group a notorious reputation. However the group always maintained that their mission was to challenge and explore the darker and obsessive sides of the human condition rather than to make attractive music.

Throbbing Gristle pioneered the use of pre-recorded tape-based 'samples', and made extensive use of special effects to produce a distinctive, highly distorted background, usually accompanied by lyrics or spoken-word performances by Cosey Fanni Tutti or Genesis P-Orridge. Though they asserted they wanted to provoke their audience into thinking for themselves rather than pushing any specific agenda (as evidenced by the song "Don't Do As You're Told, Do As You Think" on Heathen Earth), Throbbing Gristle also frequently associated with the anarchist punk scene. They even appeared on the infamous Crass pamphlet Toxic Grafity, with a condensation of their own propaganda parody series, Industrial News.

In 1977 they released their debut single United/Zyklon B Zombie, followed by an album, Second Annual Report. Although pressed in a limited initial run of 786 copies on the band's own Industrial Records label, it was later re-released due to high demand on Mute records, however this later release was reversed with all tracks playing backwards and in reverse order. This was followed by a series of albums, singles and live performances over a four year period.

20 Jazz Funk Greats is the third full-length album by Throbbing Gristle.


    20 Jazz Funk Greats
    Released     1979

   1. "20 Jazz Funk Greats" – 2:51
   2. "Beachy Head" – 3:42
   3. "Still Walking" – 4:56
   4. "Tanith" – 2:20
   5. "Convincing People" – 4:54
   6. "Exotica" – 2:53
   7. "Hot on the Heels of Love" – 4:24
   8. "Persuasion" – 6:36
   9. "Walkabout" – 3:04
  10. "What a Day!" – 4:38
  11. "Six Six Sixties" – 2:07
  12. "Discipline (Berlin)" – 10:45
  13. "Discipline (Manchester)" – 8:06


No comments:

Post a Comment